What Starts Small?

image
Pic from cliparts.co

Most things in life start quite small: the flirtation leading to a full fledged relationship, the business idea that eventually made millions with the right team to even the feeling to release an emotion that led to my ebook and a blog.

Do not and I repeat do not be disheartened by the lack of immediate results. Prior to my action of putting my pen to a random scrap of paper (I found lying around) I did not realise I would find a fitting hobby. When I was a decade younger and a decade more imaginative I had thought of taking writing seriously. However, when you share your ideas with those who are not in your support network you can’t help but wonder if their scepticism is more accurate than your passion and vision.

That said day I tried to make notes as my Grandfather had advised me to share my stories with the world. Coming from such a wise man whom had often looked forward to my recounts of weird,wonderful and woeful events in my life I had finally decided to write things down. I started with bullet points that became sentences and the sentences extended into paragraphs until I had amassed over 35,000 words in two months. I was shocked by this revelation as I had previously laughed at the notion that I would have much to write. I had always been the student that struggled to  meet word counts because of my habitual gravitation towards condensing and brief summaries. I did the personally  unthinkable (and my next challenge is 50,000-100,000 words).

The next step was deciding what to do with this story I had sent my manuscript to a few publishing houses; one informed me that they did not have space on their client list to support me and another gave me a contract. Unfortunately, later searching online I saw all their negative feedback and one in particular really stood out to me. The author claimed that this publishing house had written in a clause allowing them to send and publish their literary effort anywhere they liked and they had not advertised not sold a single book as contracted to do so.

I immediately cancelled the contract and decided to self-publish. Now this has greater risk as promotion is down to me and has also proved to be quite costly. Nonetheless, I am happy with my decision because I have already completed what I set out to do. Tell my story. Yes, it was difficult considering I had been wound very tightly, conscious of my life journey and judgement of others. However, this new hobby has proved to be extremely cathartic and I have found joy in a place I didn’t realise was so easily accessible.

I challenge everyone to go after the aspirations they have long hid and make the changes that seem the most laborious. Force the ‘gate keepers’ to take note of you and know that even if you are not an immediate success there will be lessons to take from the perceived failure. Now swallow your pride and make an example of yourself in the ways you had previously only imagined. You may not end up where you initially hoped with status or wealth but you will be content in knowing just that bit more about yourself.

From someone like me who has personally experienced very little passion. Yes, even in the things most would view as a triumph I can now say that I have found what makes me ‘happy’. How do I know? Well let me share with you the fact that it’s approaching ridiculous o’clock and I’m currently writing this…all the best

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01BJWOXNM?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Teherah xXx

 

Leave a Reply

