That Spark!!!


Copyright Teherah Wheeler (©) 2016

Okay so this is what I’ve been doing over the last few months…WRITING!!!! 🎉🎉🤓

In December last year I was minding my own business and catching up on the news, when a lovers’ tiff appeared on my social media  timeline. Now, I wouldn’t really count myself as particularly romantic but like most I have feelings too and a real beating heart behind my facade of…a deadly weapon…sorry where was I, yes touched by the romantic thread of apologies and pleads for a second chance so I challenged myself to go there too. 

It was easy peasy lemon….okay that was dishonest sorry. Well I hardly wanted to scare anyone by saying this project felt like a mental beatdown during the process. C’mon let’s keep it PG so back to the romance. Let me start by saying, I loudly applaud the seasoned romance novelists. I literally learnt the hard way that there is SO, SO and SO again MUCH MORE to the boy meets girl scenarios we observe in films. In fact I might need to watch a few romance films again to see if I can better appreciate the script. I now understand what the script writers would have endured to produce those gems… Especially, if you want the characters and circumstances to weave seamlessly into tension building scenes that others can also relate to and interpret in a similar fashion to the vision you hold in your mind. 

What did I do?

I researched and read many novels and Shakespearean based texts. Okay, sorry I didn’t really do that. 🤦‍♂️

 It would have been helpful, I’m sure but I didn’t do that because…well because I’m not trying to create similar stories to another bestselling author and generally I dont want to write like anyone else. I want to write like me.

What really happened?

I literally plucked an idea from my mind and ran with it, until I sort of  ran out of next scenes…you know hit a creative block. 

This was followed by a month of ignoring the heck out of it and thinking how to make the book more me; visually realistic but a touch awkward, brimming with delicious potential and a stroke of  genius. Ha!

Then after completing all the chores that were my only hopes at procrastinating, I found myself back in front of the unfinished pages. I could have ran away but I told myself,

 “Nope you’re going to get this done… 

  YOU WILL FINISH!!!” 

My Sensei would have been proud, I was applying my learning to other areas of my life…huh?!!! See, I do listen. 😬😂

Anyway after months of chopping and changing (sorry sounds more interesting than editing and I have martial arts on my mind too but at least you know editing is in my vocabulary) I settled on how I wanted the print to end. 

How is this different to any other novel?

Well if you should know anything about my writing style, you’ll find that I’m sarcastic and quite uninhibited. I write things as they come to me, which is quite unfortunate for my blog as sometimes I have loads to say in a month and other times I’m a very distant memory. 

Most importantly I don’t spend time worrying about where my writing fits with others. Not in a cheeky way and yes, I’m aware that publishers like to ask this question. It’s perfectly fine to ask this question and my answer would be “I don’t know” but that’s okay because where some obsess about financial margins I don’t want to, I just really enjoy writing. 

If you’re reading this and you’re an editor please get in touch as I could really use another pair of eyes for the future if you know what I mean but otherwise thank you for reading. I hope to continue my next project tomorrow and if like me you write, leave it to marinate then return to it… I guess you must really enjoy the process too. 

All the best 

Teherah xXx
Copyright Teherah Wheeler (©) 2017

2 thoughts on “That Spark!!!

  1. While you’re drafting is not the time to worry about editing. Trust me–you’ll spend plenty of time there later. And I often find that it’s best to let the book set for a couple months while you write some short stories. It helps me to come back to the thing with fresh eyes.

    But do whatever works for you. Writers tend to each have their own process.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Noted lol…I just do what I can for the overall process when I can’t create more scenes. I agree about leaving the book and coming back to it at a later date. Thank you for your input, much appreciated. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

